What About Us?

future 3

For more than a year now

do I sit here and listen,

to all what they say

about hopes and dreams.

The past is in question

or is it the future,

I am not sure anymore

they got me confused.

‘She is lying’ he yells

pointing fingers at her,

hoping we won’t find out

the truth about him.

And there is her

who is in question as well,

for bad judgment calls

and for emails she sent.

What about us?

I would like to cry out,

what about all of us

who try so hard?

We just want a job

a home and a car,

something to eat

and a blanket at night.

We don’t want a wall

or an ignorant ban

on people who believe

in a different God .

Can we stop for a moment

and remember our roots,

can WE THE PEOPLE

be united again?

united

9 thoughts on “What About Us?

  1. My husband says if “he” wins, we should erase the inscription on the Statue of Liberty as it will no longer apply. “Give me your tired, your poor, Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, The wretched refuse of your teeming shore, Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me, I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

Leave a Reply

