We can make a Difference!

 

blogging-cartoon-2

The Quit-Smoking-Section of my blog is still read by someone nearly every day. Somehow smokers, who want to kick the Nicotine addiction and the cigarettes to the curb, find my little blog.

Some of them even take the time and email me, and they share their stories and their experiences with me. There is a group of ex-smokers, who keep me posted about their significant milestones; six months, one year and more and I am so proud of all of them.

I started blogging when I was 3-months smoke-free. Back then I shared all my newfound wisdom, my humor and all my weird questions with the few readers and followers I had.

On August 11th, 2014 -over two years ago- I wrote a post with the title My Addiction Manifesto and yesterday someone left a comment on that 2-year old post.

i avoided reading this section of yours before because i wasn’t ready to quit. now i’m gearing up for surgery & am taking advantage of my 2-day smoke-free hospital stay to quit, coming home to a smoke-free house. i have no doubt this time i will succeed, and your blog is part of my success plan! Thanks for all of this for all of us.

I thought the comment was unusual, so I printed it and showed it to my husband after dinner. He looked at me with tears in his eyes, “You did it,” he said, and I wasn’t sure what he meant.

“You always hoped to make a difference in someone’s life,” he said, and then it hit me like a freight train, and I got all teary eyed as well. He was right.

I always hoped my life wouldn’t be a total waste, and I could make a difference in the life of just one person. We don’t have children; there will be no Grandbabies running around which we could mess up. There will be nothing left of me, after me or so I thought.

Making a difference, that’s what many of us wish for. Some of us -as we can see in this election- want to leave a trail of hate and anger behind, but most of us ordinary people, we want to leave something behind that might help another person. We hope to inspire, and we hope to change a person’s life for the better. That’s why parents work so hard; that’s why teachers don’t give up…that’s why most of us blog.

MAKING A DIFFERENCE – I never thought this could happen through writing on my blog; I never thought it could happen at all.

I guess we never know who we reach and who we inspire. We all are out there in this world, today more connected than ever. Maybe we should never forget that people are listening and watching, even when we aren’t aware of it at all.

The comment yesterday was a great reminder on just that. We don’t know!

beinspired

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “We can make a Difference!

  1. It is a very touching, yet humbling, moment to discover you’ve made a difference in someone’s life. It is such a wonderfully heartwarming moment!
    You’re right – we usually don’t know the impact we’ve made in the lives of others. Our words and actions leave ripples behind us that we rarely see. One less smoker is a very positive thing – especially for that person and their family / friends ❤

    My sincerest congratulations on being an Influencer!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Making the world a better place, one person at a time 😉 I agree that most of use do make some small difference. If we all make one person’s life just a little better, all of us are making the world a bit better.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

