Share Your World – 2016 Week #42

share-your-world

If you wanted to de-clutter where you live, what room / space would you start with?  (And why, if you’re feel like admitting to it.)

My husband is a packrat and would be the leader of all the packrats if he wouldn’t be married to Mrs. De-clutter. I can’t stand clutter, it drives me bonkers, and he knows it. Thankfully, our little village has two community garage sales a year. One in Spring and one at the end of summer.

We have a beautiful and cozy home; we have everything we need and more. Something new comes in – something old flies out.

“It’s pretty simple,” if you ask me – “It’s pretty complicated,” if you ask him. 🙂

packrat

If you want to remember something important, how do you do it (sticky note on the fridge, string around your finger, etc.), and does it work?

I have a smartphone, a tablet, a computer, a laptop and all kind of other electronic toys, but I still believe in old fashion calendars. One hangs on the side of my desk and shows what bills I have to pay, the other one is a Filofax with all my appointments, birthdays, anniversaries and other important dates. I have stick notes everywhere and love them; it makes me look busy. 🙂

If you could create a one room retreat just for yourself, what would be the most important sense to emphasize:  sight (bright natural light, dim light, etc.), hearing (silence, music, fountain, etc.), smell (candles, incense, etc), touch (wood, stone, soft fabrics, etc.), or taste (herbal tea, fresh fruit, etc.)?

I don’t need a room, just a “Me-space.” A comfortable chair at a window where I can look outside. A side table for my tea or wine and a lamp beside it and I am all set and ready to relax, read or listen to music. I need the outside view more than anything, summer of winter, sunshine or rain. It balances me.

room-with-a-view

If you could interview one of your great-great-great grandparents, who would it be (if you know their name) and what would you ask?

Paul, my Grandfather, whom I never met; I would like to speak to him. My Grandfather had been arrested twice during WWII because he refused to say the Hitler greeting. He was in the Konzentration camp Auschwitz and in Dachau and I always wanted to know more about it. I would “grill” him about the hidden room in the basement of the old farmhouse. Was it used during WWII or not? Who built it. I would ask him about WWII and his life, but have a feeling he wouldn’t tell me much either.

I would also ask him about his talents, since it seems I inherited a few of those.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am grateful…period. 🙂


The Share-Your-World challenge is held by Cee’s Photography blog. Click >>>here<<< and join the fun. Already week 42, where did this year go?

26 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 Week #42

  1. Great post. I love a declutter, still have too much stuff but can see benefits if less.

    Love the me-space concept..i too have several me spaces.

    Love your sharing of your great great grand father. What lives they have lived and seen and been through that we dont realise how simple our lives are and fortunate we are. That life has been so kind.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always enjoy these little insights into who you are. My grandfather was a prisoner in a camp operated by the Japanese, and he never talked about that time either. The experiences these men lived through were likely too hard to repeat.
    I like your decluttering style too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Always an interesting peek into your world … although nothing ever really surprises me.

    Like you, I prefer a paper calendar. Mine hangs on the kitchen fridge. There has been a calendar on the fridge in my life for as long as I can remember. It anchors me and I would feel adrift without it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My Grandmother never talked about that time of her life, I assume my Grandfather wouldn’t talk about it either. Many people my age, who were born and raised in Europe like me, have the same history.
      I assume that’s one of the reasons -or THE reason – why I am so furious with Trump and his supporters. I hate to see history repeat itself.

      Thank you Cee. I enjoyed the questions this week..

      Like

Leave a Reply

