Reaching Out – Part II

women3

Last week has been hectic and eventful. There was Thanksgiving -Friendsgiving in our home- and then there was the first meeting of my Fabulous 50+ Women’s meetup group.

I was nervous and antsy all day long and went through a whirlwind of emotions. One minute I felt excited, then, just a few moments later I didn’t want to go.

What if they don’t like me.” I felt like I was going on a blind date.

That thought stayed with me for about 2 hours, then it changed to, “What if I don’t like them.” Oh dear, what a predicament.  Life can be so complicated!

I went to the restaurant with very mixed feeling.

People are busy during the Holidays, why in the world did I schedule our first meeting so close to Thanksgiving?

“What was I thinking?”

I had RSVP’s for twelve people -two had canceled throughout the day- which left me with ten.

So far so good!

Six women showed up, and we had such a good time. We were sitting at a table in a nice restaurant and talked like we knew each other since a long time. There wasn’t an odd moment, and there was never an awkward silence.

Just lots of laughter, good food, and good companionship.

We are all in our early 50’s and interesting enough, none of us is originally from Ohio. Two hours later, when I left the restaurant, I felt I had made new friends.

Later on at home, my  husband wanted to know who I had liked the most and I couldn’t answer his question. I like them all equally, and I am looking forward to our next meeting.

Now we have 97 members, and I feel good about it. Some members already chipped in, and the group is paid up to June already. That surprised me the most.

We also have a long list of future activities:

Museums, art galleries, hiking, bowling, cooking classes, paint and wine, movie night, wine tasting, theater play’s and of course more food.

I guess I am not the only one who was looking to make new friends. 🙂

Life is good!

 

 

 

women

 

11 thoughts on “Reaching Out – Part II

  1. I’m so glad it worked out!! Even better … that there are plans for more. It just goes to show you that there are so many more women like you out there wanting to connect with like spirits ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

