The Good-The Bad -The Quiet

The result from the experiment is shocking:

6 sided with the racist who discriminated and insulted a Muslim woman. 

13 stood up and spoke up for the Muslim woman, even left the bakery.

22 did nothing. They held their head down, decided it wasn’t their problem.

As shocking as the outcome to the experiment might be, it explains today’s America.

6  Americans took the side of the racist. Some people are racists and there is not much we can do about it. The behavior of these people is evil, there is no other word for it. They are often undereducated people who wrongfully believe it’s their patriotic duty to hate anybody and everybody who is different. You can’t argue with ignorance. Discrimination by gender, color, religion and sexual orientation -many of us dream of a world without it, but most of us know it’s highly unlikely.

I watched the experiment, and it reminded me of all the movies and documentaries about the Jewish people during WWII. Back then, in Germany, it was a sport to insult Jews in public. That’s how it started -we all know how it ended.

13 Americans stood up/spoke up. I was so proud of each one of them. The Father of the soldier, the guy who left the store and told him to @#$% off, the two girls at the end who asked for the manager. All of them were so unbelievably brave. Speaking up is not easy, it takes courage if we speak for ourselves, it’s even more complicated if we speak up for strangers.

22 Americans didn’t do anything. For whatever reason, they decided it wasn’t their problem. They didn’t get involved. They looked away, decided the situation was under control and they didn’t see any need to intervene.

I believe in equality, in the beauty of every human being. I don’t care about color, religion, gender and sexual orientation. I enjoy a word with different views and different looks.

Having that said, would I stand up or would I be one of the 22, hoping someone else will do the job? I am a woman in my 50s -I can come up with a handful of good excuses why being quiet would be the smartest decision.

Evil never wins, but it lingers if we don’t do anything. Could I be someone’s hero and speak up when it’s needed? I don’t know but I hope so, at least in the case of “only” one offender. But what if it’s a group of people?

A while back my blogging friend Hilary sent me a small video clip. 5 Ways to disrupt racism, two minutes that taught me so much.

It’s not just about being there when it happens, it’s also about being there when it’s over -I never thought about it. Comforting the victim, making sure he or she is alright is as important as standing up in the moment when it happens.

It’s also important what we do afterward. It won’t go away if we do nothing! Silence is as bad as approval.

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “The Good-The Bad -The Quiet

  1. This is a great video. You and I have discussed this before – whether or not we would be courageous enough to stand up in defence of someone else in need, even in the face of ourselves being abused. I hope I’m never tested, but this video is amazing guidance.

  2. Wow!! Part of the problem with racism is many people do not believe it exists. In order for us to get to a point where we can rid the world of racism we must admit there is a problem. Fear of the unknown or unfamiliar is not a reason for hatred against anyone. I don’t get how anyone could stand by and watch another person be physically or verbally assaulted and do nothing but this is the digital age and more often than not, people would rather film (which in some cases it is needed) but it’s bothersome the numbers of people who pretend others aren’t experiencing injustices.

    • Racism and discrimination is existing in many forms and many ways. I witnessed it here and in Europe, I felt it in Asia.

      I come from a country where Jews were openly humiliated not even 75 years ago.

      I witnessed racism against black people in the South. I heard it, I saw it. It is as bad as it has been 50 years ago. The laws have changed, but people still hate the same way

    • I wouldn’t either, it happened in a store in public. I can not stand what is going on.

      The movie was filmed in 2012, I don’t even want to think about how the numbers might have shifted in 4 years.

  3. I’ve had several international friends of all denominations, and ignorant people are everywhere. I know that I don’t have the fortitude to “stand up” for someone in every situation, but I probably would have in the one presented in the video.

  4. Some people are afraid of possible negative consequences , if they spoke up , others are coward and selfish…..or just racists

    I wonder how you can stay quiet and silent , while a human being is mistreated in front of you……but there are so many other questions about the matter , which I can’t responde to…..

  5. It’s horrible to see something like this happen. I was once on a London Underground train when someone started abusing the person sitting next to me. I was among several who told him to stop and diverted his attention. At the next station two people forced the abuser off the train and reported him to station staff, while the train was held up for police to arrive. The poor guy I was sitting next to was shaking after the incident, and took a lot of calming down. The image has stayed with me to this day, and that was over 10 years ago. The message in your video is very good advice.

    • I have never been in a situation where I was directly confronted with racism toward another person, however I experienced racism myself. In Asia once and in France, when someone knew that my Grandma was part Jewish.

      I am not an easy victim and not the quiet type. I do hope I will speak up when needed.

      I wish there would be a cure for all the hate.

      Clive, I wish you a Merry Christmas!

      • It must have been awful for you, and hope that it didn’t affect you too much. I’m sure that experience will help you to speak up if you ever need to. Happy Christmas to you too 😊🎅

Leave a Reply

