Share Your World – 2016 Week #51

 

holiday-season-2

What is your favorite holiday?

I am agnostic, I have no beliefs or none-beliefs, but I like to watch people when they enjoy a time that is special to them. People are kinder during the Holiday Season, especially around Christmas and Hannukah. I believe we should just go ahead and accept that we have five seasons, not just four. There are spring and summer, then autumn and holiday followed by winter, beginning in January.

So I cannot pick a Holiday, but a season.

What types of food is associated with your holiday? 

I don’t associate food with holidays, but rather the way of eating. The Thanksgiving gatherings with a football game. Easter with an Easter picknick. The 4th of July and BBQ with friends. Birthdays with cakes and surprise parties and then, of course, the Holiday Season. Heaven on Earth -but since I don’t believe in it, it’s just a sweet time.

It’s not the food, it’s the how we eat it -what probably makes only sense to me.

holiday-food

Do you travel for your holiday?

Not anymore. For years we went skiing for New Years, but we don’t do that anymore, they moved the mountains. 🙂

Is it a religious or spiritual holiday?

For the people who believe it’s a religious holiday, for me, it’s just quality time with my husband and the people I love.

holiday-season-4

Is there a gift exchange?

Yes, even though we always say we won’t exchange presents. This year there seems to be more than usual and I blame it entirely on my husband. He turns into a little boy around Christmas time. He didn’t have many good Christmases when he was little, there wasn’t much his Mom could afford. The boys carried home the Christmas tree from the schoolhouse on the last day of school, and neighbors or charity organization brought the presents. He never forgot. Now he gets overboard and I enjoy watching him. He thinks about others, pays the kindness he received as a child forward, so I don’t lean back and enjoy watching him.

How long does the celebration last?

Until January 6th.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am looking forward to the New Year because 2016 was pretty messed up. (Sorry you asked)

holiday-season

 

Share your World is held by Cee’s photography blog. Thank you Cee, you make me aware how much time seems to fly these days. Wasn’t it just September?

5 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 Week #51

  1. I’m Agnostic too, so’s the hubs, but we still put up a tree because it’s tradition. We trade gifts for the same reason.

    But it is nice to see people be nice to each other around this time of year, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • We have a Christmas tree, mainly because it’s the way it always has been.

      It’s like flying back in time and remember Grandma and the Christmases we had when I was young.

      Yes, it is nice to see people be nicer. I wish they would keep it up.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you got one of the rare (very very rare indeed) men who ‘turn into little boys’ at Holiday. That in itself is the best present I feel any woman (or man…aw shit. I wasn’t going to step on PC toes..) ANYBODY could get!! Blessed Yule sweetie!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

