We know we dream, we dream we know

2017-2

I haven’t’ felt much excitement about the new year. 2016 was a pretty crappy year, may the new one not be as bad, please. That was my silent plea. I never make New Year resolutions, but surprisingly have one for the upcoming year. “Stay calm and don’t give up hope.” 

I feel rather pessimistic these days.  Where is the upbeat person that’s always in a good mood? What happened to the pie in the sky and my flying pigs? Where is my optimism?

“The Year” 

What can be said in New Year rhymes,
That’s not been said a thousand times?

The new years come, the old years go,
We know we dream, we dream we know.

We rise up laughing with the light,
We lie down weeping with the night.

We hug the world until it stings,
We curse it then and sigh for wings.

We live, we love, we woo, we wed,
We wreathe our brides, we sheet our dead.

We laugh, we weep, we hope, we fear,
And that’s the burden of the year.

(by Ella Wheeler Wilcox 1910)

We hug the world until it stings. Yes, we do and we will continue to do so.

Perhaps it’s not going to be as bad as I fear it could be? But even if it will be as bad, or even worse. I need to find my inner peace in all the turmoil around me, only then will I be strong enough to deal with it.

We rise up laughing with the light, we lie down weeping with the night.

Don’t we all know that feeling? From laughter to tears in under 10 seconds. Many headlines and news this year left us speechless, others have turned our stomachs upside down and we cried for people we have never met.

We know we dream, we dream we know.

I still have dreams for myself and for this beautiful world. Many of my dreams will not be fulfilled during my lifetime and I know that, but that shouldn’t stop me from dreaming.

Yes, I will stay calm and I still have hope.

2017

 

 

24 thoughts on “We know we dream, we dream we know

Leave a Reply

