It’s not yet the End

international-trump-cartoon3

“Everything will be all right in the end. If it’s not all right, it is not yet the end.”  Patel, Hotel Manager, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel”

I liked the quote when I heard it for the first time when we watched the movie. Now it’s printed and hanging in my workroom. A simple, everyday reminder that I should not give up hope.

Lately, I seem to be clinging on to positive quotes like this. It’s not the end, yet. I understand it, but if it’s not, why does it feel like it so often?

President Elect D. Trump tweeted today that he will keep Guantanamo Bay open.


Tweet

According to Amnesty International we are holding about 107 inmates in detention without a trial.

President Barack Obama had vowed to close the jail during his tenure and has transferred out many prisoners. Mr. Trump opposed President Obama’s closure plan during the presidential election campaign.

President-Elect D. Trump wants to keep Guantanamo Bay open, that was his statement last February, not just that, he wants to fill it up.

“…we’re gonna load it up with some bad dudes, believe me, we’re gonna load it up.”

I too want “bad dudes” behind bars, and often I wish we could throw away the key, but then I have to remind myself that I do believe in our justice system. I believe everybody has the right to a fair trial, the child molester as much as the serial killer, even if we often feel it’s just a waste of money. That’s why we have a justice system. “Innocent until proven guilty,” that still should stand for something -even if our media seems to have forgotten all about it.

My Grandfather was twice incarcerated in his lifetime, both times without a trial. Times were different then. A dictator had taken over Europe and people who didn’t agree with him were often arrested, tortured and murdered. My Grandfather was considered a “bad dude” and he was sent to Auschwitz twice, not because he was a Jew, no, he was JUST a political enemy. He refused the Hitler salute during WWII, and he was arrested for it -and he was not the only one.

I don’t know if he was tortured, I just know that he came back a changed man -that’s what my Grandmother said. He never talked about his time in the prison track of Auschwitz, and I try not to imagine the bad things he must have seen.

Arresting people and holding them in detention without a trial, that’s something a civilized country should not do. That’s something we the people should not want.

Some countries in this word would consider me a “bad dude” for the simple fact that I speak up if I feel like it. I am a blogger. I blog about everything that comes to my mind. I do a little research here and there and then I start typing and my fingers fly over the keyboard.

I don’t belong to any political party. I don’t hate the other side, just because someone told me I should feel that way. Right or wrong is dictated by my moral standards, the ones I was raised with and not by political affiliation.

Keeping Guantanamo Bay open is wrong!

If it’s not alright, it’s not the end…I sure hope so!


 

Guantanamo Bay is being used to detain what Washington calls “enemy combatants”, following the 11 September 2001 attacks in the US.

The first 20 detainees were transferred to the facility on 11 January 2002, and a total of 780 men have been held since then – the vast majority without charge or criminal trial.

President Obama has approved transfers regularly but the Republican-dominated Congress tightened restrictions, requiring the Pentagon to report that security standards have been met at least 30 days before any such move.

Those removed from Guantanamo have been transferred to other countries and lawmakers have resisted any attempts to allow prisoners into the US. (Source: BBC.com)

international-trump-cartoon2

11 thoughts on “It’s not yet the End

  1. Your words are wise my friend.. No one should be held indefinitely without trial I agree.. And I so empathise with your feelings as you recount your own Grandfathers sufferings through the war..

    Wishing you a Peaceful and a Bright New Year.. We must all of us continue to add our thoughts of Hope for this world.. And remember how our thoughts create the world of tomorrow…
    Love and Blessings
    Sue ❤

  2. As I read your Blog Post I thought about all the Japanese Americans unjustly incarcerated into camps during WWII just because they resembled the “enemy.” This Muslim registry nonsense he is planning smacks of Hitlers Yellow Stars of David for Jews. Dhrump needs a scapegoat to blame on which to blame the nation’s ills. He has no coherent or intelligent plan to improve peoples lives or the economy. Again if you’re the “wrong” color, wrong race or wrong religion you will be the scapegoat. If you have a disability you become a target. At this point I’m totally disgusted!!

    • I think many of us are disgusted, outraged. I feel out of balance and I feel helpless -for the first time in my life.

      I have read about the Japanese Americans during WWII, but never touch the subject since I don’t know too much about it. But you are right, it’s the same old scapegoat thinking that brought us here.

      I tell myself it won’t be as bad and prepare for the worst. Thank you for your comment.

  3. Pingback: It’s not yet the End — The happy Quitter! – Peter's pondering

Leave a Reply

