Freedom- Friday Fictioneers

 

friday-fictioneers

Photo Prompt by Dale Rogerson

 

Our last walk through these halls, then we will be released.

Nobody says a word, we are quiet. This is the moment we have been waiting for.

Freedom!

We didn’t think that day would ever come; we were not sure if we would make it.

They had shown no mercy, we were forced to stay here for years –like so many before us.

Over the years we have grown, we have learned our lessons.

Today is the day.

The last day of school.

Our graduation –what a wonderful triumph.

We are ready to step outside and conquer the world.

(Word count: 100)


The Friday Fictioneers are held by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Now it’s official, I am addicted to the 100-word challenge. Every week I wonder if I will be able to tell a story with just 100 words and then I surprise myself just doing that again and again. Today I couldn’t help but think about the last day in boarding school. Thank you! I enjoyed it and I hope you will too.

26 thoughts on “Freedom- Friday Fictioneers

  1. Dear Bridget,

    At first I thought they were some kind of penal colony (although they might have felt like it at times 😉 ) until you turned the story on its ear. I see in your reply to Neil that it’s based on your own experience. Nice…and well rendered.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

