Speechless – Furious – Upset

muslims in america.jpg

“It’s hypocrisy to call yourself a Christian and chase away a refugee or someone seeking help, someone who is hungry or thirsty, toss out someone who is in need of my help,” he said. “If I say I am Christian, but do these things, I’m a hypocrite.” Pope Francis, 2016

This poem was engraved on a bronze plaque and mounted inside the Statue of Liberty!

The New Colossus

Not like the brazen giant of Greek fame,
With conquering limbs astride from land to land;
Here at our sea-washed, sunset gates shall stand
A mighty woman with a torch, whose flame
Is the imprisoned lightning, and her name
Mother of Exiles. From her beacon-hand
Glows world-wide welcome; her mild eyes command
The air-bridged harbor that twin cities frame.
“Keep ancient lands, your storied pomp!” cries she
With silent lips. “Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

Emma Lazarus (November 2, 1883)

muslims-in-america-3

Speak out, Bloggers!

Don’t worry about the numbers of followers, there is so much at stake.

Speak out, your blog is your voice -use it!

muslims-in-america-4

32 thoughts on “Speechless – Furious – Upset

  1. I am also enraged and deeply worried… I turned on the news and hear about another ridiculous executive action done by this maniac which is contrary to what I thought America was all about.. the more I hear about what he is doing, the more I want to embrace diversity, multiculturalism, refugees coming to the US, the Muslim community , and all those communities that are specially affected. It is beyond words. We need to continue to unite even more and not be silenced.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. he WILL be stopped. the aclu has already stepped in and we have too many here who know this is wrong and ILLEGAL. unfortunately, what comes when he goes is pence and a congress owned by these extremists. cleaning that real swamp out is the biggest challenge. but we have to still believe there’s more of us than them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Funny abou that. We were just talking about this very thing. Doing all WE can, within the limits of age and stage of our lives. Everyone who has a public face needs to reorganize for the long haul and not just lock the doors and windows. Do I wonder if the storm troopers are going to be banging on our door? Sure I do. Will they? I have no idea, but it is already much to close for comfort. How did this happen to this country? How did we LET this happen?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Trump started a movement, a movement that reached cowards, racists and haters. He reached people who are afraid to move on. Sanders was the movement on the other side, but he was quieted by the super-delegates who wanted Hillary Clinton. She was a risk candidate from the start, run a lame campaign and spent too much time discrediting Trump, instead of proving her point.

      We are in serious trouble but it seems people have woken up. The numbers at the women’s march and last nights protest are promising. I hope this madman can be stopped.

      As for “storm troopers” knocking at our door. Yes, there is that possibility but I do want to be -and will be- on the right site of history.

      I wish someone would comfort me and tell me that everything will be alright and that this madman will be stopped asap.

      Like

  4. Doesn’t this sound a bit Hitler-ian…..?
    What worries me a lot is the number of people who voted for Trump , and claps at his decisions ….
    Even here in Italy , figure this!

    He goes to the Church every Sunday , I’m told , and boasts to be a Christian….but It ‘d be enough for me if he were simply “Human”…..!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s the rise of Fascism. I am glad to see so many people on the streets. He has supporters, but the numbers of people who are against him and his “regime” are higher. The odds are against Trump and Pence.

      Like

  5. Pingback: At Least We Still Have a Voice.. | sparksfromacombustiblemind

  6. I have blogged about this over and over. I am so tired that I can barely stand any more. I am so discouraged that I wish I could die. I will pass along the beautiful poem to my readers on FB, and your post to mine here…Fascism has moved in. May we all mourn!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. reblogging this. We in America that can still think logically abhore this man. And we are raising out voices in outrage, we are letting our political leaders know how outraged we are by visiting them and holding them accountable for their actions or inactions to the policies being set forth by POTUS. We are trying so hard not to let our country sink into fascism. pray for us. Speak out for us. Encourage us when we start to feel it is hopeless.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. I am Swiss (sort of half Swiss) but have no real further connections to GB since my dad passed away last year. The USA is not my country, but I have many colleagues there, mostly online, who I have never met, but I have grown to know America and am proud of my colleagues. And now this. I have never felt so strongly about a development in history. This cannot be true Memories from my parents’ days return. It all began so innocently and we all know what happened afterwards. All I can do is blog about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I don’t know if Trump a Christian. I don’t think I have heard his religious background. I only remember he went to the prayer meeting after the inauguration. I am shocked by what happened yesterday. I am praying for the World, especially those effected by the action.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

