Always a Mountain Girl -Friday Fictioneers

 

Friday Fictioneers.jpg

Photography by Sarah Potter

 

Every snowflake is unique, just like the memories they bring.

Faces of kids are dancing around me, I can hear the laughter, I can feel the joy. 

Our house buried under a blanket of snow; my Grandma surprising me with a new pair of gloves, because the old ones had disappeared – once again.

I laugh at the funny hat she forces me to wear. 

My first car stuck in the snow, a shy kiss from a childhood friend.

The desire for snow burns deep in me. It’s part of my past, it’s part of me. 

I am a mountain girl.

(Wordcount: 99)


Sadly, this year we hardly had any snow, just like last year. It’s unusually warm, and I will have to cut the lawn for the first time in February. I have high hopes for next year. 🙂

The Friday Fictioneers are held by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. It’s a fun photography challenge that taught me to make every word count. Thank’s Rochelle!

 

26 thoughts on “Always a Mountain Girl -Friday Fictioneers

  1. What Lovely memories here Bridget.. I too love snow.. but like you, we have not had that much where we live in the midlands of England.. Though Scotland had another blanket only this week as Storm Doris swept across the land..

    Funny I had a Gran who knitted me mittens that I always remember when making snowballs as a child.. When it snowed deep every year in my memory..

    Beautiful thoughts thank you for sharing them. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

