Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien – A Song a Day (4)

 

Image result for edith piaf

Many years ago I lost a good friend, she was older than me, and I was fortunate enough to be with her almost to the end. We had many talks, and she was generous enough to share her life experience with me. “Don’t ever look back with regret,” she said, and I am not so sure I understood it right then and there. 

She was right.

What if…? That’s a poisoned question.” It’s a poison that I don’t want to take. Living with regrets is the worst punishment we can give to ourselves.  We all have a past and not all of it is good. It happened. We need to learn from it and move on.

Years from now I want to sit in my chair and smile when I think about my life, and I want that smile to be contentious.

Édith Piaf is one of my all time favorites. Her music plays in my workroom all the time, there is nobody like her.

Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien by Édith Piaf

Non, rien de rien, non, je ne regrette rien
Ni le bien qu`on m`a fait, ni le mal
Tout ça m`est bien égal
Non, rien de rien, non, je ne regrette rien
C`est paye, balaye, oublie, je me fous do passe

No, nothing of nothing, No, I don’t regret anything
Neither the good things people have done to me
Nor the bad things, it’s all the same to me. 

 No, nothing of nothing No! I don’t regret anything
It’s paid for, swept away, forgotten,
I don’t care about the past!

Avec mes souvenirs j`ai allume le feu
Mes chagrins, mes plaisirs,
Je n`ai plus besoin d`eux
Balaye les amours avec leurs trémolos
Balaye pour toujours
Je réparas a zéro

With my memories I lit up the fire
My troubles, my pleasures
I don’t need them anymore! 

The lovers are all swept away
And all of their drama
Swept away forever
I start again from zero

Non, rien de rien, non, je ne regrette rien
Ni le bien qu`on m`a fait, ni le mal
Tout ça m`est bien égal
Non, rien de rien, non, je ne regrette rien
Car ma vie, car me joies
Aujourd’hui`hui ça commence avec toi

No, nothing of nothing, No, I don’t regret anything
Neither the good things people have done to me
Nor the bad things, it’s all the same to me.

No, nothing of nothing
No, I don’t regret anything
Because my life, because my joys
Today that starts with you!

Songwriters: Charles Dumont / Michel Vaucaire
Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien Lyrics © Semi, Shapiro Bernstein & Co. Inc.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien – A Song a Day (4)

    • I love classical music, play it often in my workroom, when I work on older pieces. I love to connect with my projects through music. Some pieces deserve pop and rock, but many need the classical music.

      I have never read a novel with classical music in it, now you have me very interested. Can I put a pre-order in?

      Like

  1. Oh my, Bridget … you are on a roll!! I love the “f**k you” confidence of this song. Everytime I hear it, I feel invincible!

    Have you noticed what a tongue-twister the words are to say, let alone try to sing?! … maybe it’s just my abysmal grasp of the language.

    Like

Leave a Reply

