Wind of Change – A Song a Day (5)

Today’s song is one that gave me, and many of my generation so much hope. Back then, for the first and last time, the Soviet Union had a human leader. The year was 1991 when the song “Wind of Change” became an international hit.

So much had happened in the late 80’s. The cold war was over, the Soviet Union and the United States were talking. Mikhail Gorbachev had started the democratization of the Soviet Union. People all over the world could see and feel the change. Communist-run governments among Eastern Europe revolted -mostly peacefully- and succeeded. Democracy had prevailed.

The Berlin Wall fell and united a country that had been divided for 28 years. My generation remembers it well.

The German rockband “Scorpions” captured the excitement we all felt brilliantly.

Wind of Change

I follow the Moskva
Down to Gorky Park
Listening to the wind of change
An August summer night
Soldiers passing by
Listening to the wind of change

The world is closing in
Did you ever think
That we could be so close, like brothers
The future’s in the air
I can feel it everywhere
Blowing with the wind of change

Take me to the magic of the moment
On a glory night
Where the children of tomorrow dream away (dream away)
In the wind of change

Walking down the street
Distant memories
Are buried in the past forever
I follow the Moskva
Down to Gorky Park
Listening to the wind of change

Take me to the magic of the moment
On a glory night
Where the children of tomorrow share their dreams (share their dreams)
With you and me
Take me to the magic of the moment
On a glory night (the glory night)
Where the children of tomorrow dream away (dream away)

The wind of change
Blows straight into the face of time
Like a stormwind that will ring the freedom bell
For peace of mind
Let your balalaika sing
What my guitar wants to say

Take me to the magic of the moment
On a glory night
Where the children of tomorrow share their dreams (share their dreams)
With you and me (with you and me)
Take me to the magic of the moment
On a glory night
Where the children of tomorrow dream away (dream away)
In the wind of change (in the wind of change)

In the wind of change (the wind of change)”Wind of Change” as written by Klaus Meine

Lyrics © BMG RIGHTS MANAGEMENT US, LLC , Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC


Today, I can’t help but feel sadness when I listen to this beautiful song. 27 years later and look at us today. Walls are being build, not just here in the U.S. but also in Europe. Democracy has been bruised and is getting bullied as I type this.

I wonder how many more years it will take until again, young people will sing this song with hope. A better tomorrow for ALL, not just a few. Perhaps I will be still around.

13 thoughts on “Wind of Change – A Song a Day (5)

  1. I didn’t know this song, but I remember the time so well. My children were young and at last the fear of nuclear war was disappearing and I thought now they will grow up in a better world. This evening, on the news, young Frenchmen and women were trying to suggest that the Far Right was not racist – just anti-immigrant – and that Brexit had shown them the way. They didn’t seem to know that in England the majority of young people voted to remain in Europe and were open to immigration.

    • I am curious to see the outcome of the French election. I hope they have learned from us here in the U.S.

      Most young people are open to immigration, it’s the same as well. It’s the older generation that gave us the SCROTUS (So called ruler of the United States).

      • The frightening (and confusing) thing in France is the M le P followers are overwhelmingly young. It’s the older people who remember fascism and are against her. I like the sobriquet SCROTUS – it sounds as unattractive as it should.

  2. I had never heard of this group or this song. I can see why you would choose it 🙂 Back then, it felt we were embarking on a “new world order” and all those cliches of the day.
    I think we’ve lived long enough now to see that the opposite is true. We tend to go around in circles – or as we used to say at work, SSDD …. same shit, different day.

  3. Loved this Song.. And yes I am well within your thoughts on those winds of change that brought such hope for us.. I remember well the pulling down of the Berlin wall, And I have piece of it with graffiti, which a friend who was working out there at the time brought me back.. It stands amid my gemstones.. in remembrance of those who lost their lives trying to scale it..
    We can only HOPE dear Bridget.. that we learn from the Past and the winds of change in 2017 do not sweep us away into oblivion..

    Love and Mega hugs my friend… xxx ❤

Leave a Reply

