Hidden in a Box

PHOTO PROMPT © Magaly Guerrero

They had been hidden in a box at the bottom of her wardrobe for many years.

“I bought them when I was about your age,” she said when she gently handed me the shoes.

They looked new, so clean and freshly polished. “I look at them from time to time,” my Grandma said and smiled.

“Try them on,” she insisted and so I did. They fit like they had been bought for me.

“They are beautiful,” I whispered, couldn’t take my eyes off them.

“They are yours tonight. Go out and enjoy the new shoes you thought you couldn’t afford.”

(Word count: 100)


This too is based on a real event. Years ago I came home from boarding school, and I felt sad. The class theme for Fasching (Carnival) that year had been announced. We all would dress like our parents and grandparents did in the 20’s and 30’s and we would dance the Charleston. I knew I couldn’t afford it; thought I couldn’t participate. That night my Grandma opened her wardrobe, and I got a pair of shoes and a dress that I had never seen before. I took them with me back to school.

That brings back so many memories. I could write a book.

Friday Fictioneers are held by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Every week she gives us a photograph and asks us to write a story with 100 words or less. It’s fun, give it a try.

44 thoughts on “Hidden in a Box

    • It was not a Cinderella story at all. I was the poor farm girl in a boarding school for rich kids. But her dress and her shoes made me very popular that Fasching. As for writing a book, goodness, don’t feed my thoughts.

      Like

  1. This is such a lovely story. When I saw those shoes I did a little double take as I have a similar pair, sadly not left to me by a beloved grandmother, but purchased at a Salvation Army Shop many years ago. They are very similar to your photo although mine are brown. They are tiny shoes and do not fit me although I only take a UK 3, so these must be a UK 1 or 2. I did buy some similar to the photo. Thank you for sharing your lovely memory.

    Liked by 1 person

    • “Fasching” is the carnivals time in parts of Europe. The word is used in German speaking regions, like (of course) Germany, Switzerland and Austria.
      The “silly” time starts 11 minutes after 11, on November 11th and ends on Fat Tuesday, the day before Ash Wednesday.

      The real celebrations and parades and parties are all held in January, February and March. Nobody celebrates the “silly” season before the New Year.
      There is the Italian carnival, the one in Brasil and many many more.

      I am glad you liked it. Thank you, Rochelle

      Like

Leave a Reply

