And I am opening the door to…

7 doors 2

Years ago I would have picked the door to Camelot without any hesitation.

I heard about Arthur, the illegitimate son of Uther Pendragon, legendary British King, when I was just a child. The always remaining question, was he really existing or was his persona just made up, always fascinated me. But, I would have stepped through the door to Camelot, not because of King Arthur, Guinevere and Sir Lancelot, but because of Merlin, the greatest Wizard of all.

I find Merlin is one of the most captivating figures in the Welsh literature and the Arthurian legend, a man of mystery, magic and strengths.

Stories about Wizards or Witches have always interested me. It’s the unknown that attracted me from an early age on.

I read the Harry Potter books with the same excitement, that I had felt when I heard about the great Merlin for the very first time.

Hogwarts, this door would lead me to the school of Witchcraft and Wizardry; there I could learn everything I would like to know.  Maybe Professor Dumbledore himself could teach me some magic. It’s not that I want to be a scary witch; just a little bit of witchcraft would be all I am asking for. Just a spell now and then, to clean up my kitchen, or to shut up Mrs. Gossip in our street.

I open the door to Hogwarts and find myself in the middle of a road. I have to jump back, a car almost hit me. The car came from the left, not from the right. I look around in disbelieve. It worked…I am in Great Britain, but why am I in middle of the road? The door was suppose to bring me to Hogwarts. I remember this part of town; I have been in London numerous times. I am standing in front of King’s Cross Station.

Of course, what was I thinking? I don’t have a magical car or a flying broom -yet. I have to take the Hogwarts express, just like it was described in the book. I remember, the train leaves on platform 9 ¾ on the 1st of September at 11 o’clock.

hogwarts expressplatform

That’s tomorrow. I just have to go through the wall, the solid barrier between platforms 9 and 10, and I should be able to catch the train to Hogwarts.

I am just an ordinary human being, a muggle, a person that is not magical. Will I be able to make it to platform 9 ¾? Other muggles have done it before, so it should be possible.

I remember Mrs. Weasley’s advice “one should do it in a bit of a run” and I wonder how it will feel to go through a magical, solid wall. I just have to believe in myself. There is magic involved, I will be fine.

It makes me very nervous and I turn around to make sure nobody is watching me.

Professor Dumbledore and the others might be waiting; I am sure by now, they know I am coming to attend the Wizard school.

I have been in boarding school when I was a child; I remember how important it is to have friends. What house will I be living in? Gryffindor, Hufflepuff, Ravenclaw or Slytherin?

There are a variety of classes taught at Hogwarts School, which ones will I take? There are so many branches of magic and there is so much to know about potions, charms and spells.

It will be an adventure to live in an old castle, with a moving staircase and so many secrets. There is no electricity, no modern technology; my cell phone and my tablet will be useless. I will be the oldest student there, not sure how the kids will react. Maybe I will share a room with one of the adults or spend some quality time with Minerva McGonagal?

harrypotter_characters_teachers

I do need to inform my husband that I might be gone for a while. Not sure how to do that. I will ask, maybe I can send him a letter by owl from Great Britain to Ohio. I bet he would like that a whole lot:

“Sweetheart,  you will never guess, but I think I am becoming a witch. I will be back shortly…please water my orchids.”

Oh, I can’t believe this is happening. I need to hurry now, so I will be first on the platform. I position myself in front of the wall and start running toward it.

“Believe”

I wake up and can’t remember anything. I feel my head. Did I hit the wall in full speed? Am I bleeding? Did I make it to platform 9 3/4?

It’s dark, my eyes adjust slowly and I can make out my surroundings. It’s raining and I hear thunder far away. I am in my bedroom; it was all just a dream. I just located the thunder…my husband is snoring beside me.

Maybe some other time~!

Hogwarts-Castle-hogwarts-7330015-410-268


And this is my post for this weeks writing challenge:

“Knock, knock…anybody there? Week #2

13 thoughts on “And I am opening the door to…

  1. Pingback: Knock, knock…Anybody there Week #2 | The happy Quitter!

    • I never cared for Alice in wonderland, not sure why. I really didn’t hear about it in Europe when I was child or teenager. It wasn’t popular there and later on, that’s when I got hooked on Camelot.

      Fantasy world, legends and fairy tales..what would we be without it?

      Like

  2. That is adorable! I spent an entire year reading sets of books of Arthurian lore. My favorite were the Stephen Lawhead books, “The Pendragon Cycle.” Bernard Cornwell’s trilogy was also very good — and different. But alas, I have never read any of the Harry Potter books. Nor have seen any of the movies. I’m a devout Tolkien fan.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think I read every book about Merlin and the Arthurian legend there is :-).

      “Mist of Avalon” and “Le Morte de Arthur” are my favorites. Then there are all the book in the Arthurian Saga and so many more.

      I had to proof read a Harry Potter Book, making sure it was an OK book for kids in a summer camp. The Harry Potter books are very well written and an enjoyable read for adults as well..

      Like

Leave a comment