And Then It Hit Me…

Daily writing prompt
If you had the power to change one law, what would it be and why?

I spent the summer of 1991 in Yugoslavia, a country that no longer exists. As always I got paid to travel and had all extra expenses reimbursed, which is fair enough because you still pay all your monthly bills at home.

Oh, how I enjoyed this summer. Far away from America, the country where I now lived, close to the place where I had been born and raised, I explored a foreign land. Funny enough, I worked as a translator, even though I didn’t speak Croatian, Macedonian, or Serbian.

Of course, I had heard about the tension in Yugoslavia, but I was distant from it -so I thought.

In the evenings, after a long and intense day at work, I went back to my hotel, showered, changed clothes, and went for a walk in the city to unwind. I stayed in Split, a beautiful city on the Mediterranean Sea.

I enjoyed these trips alone, away from my colleague who I liked, but didn’t call friends. I didn’t want to explore tourist attractions or sit in the hotel lobby every night, I tried to mingle with the natives instead.

One night I walked into a restaurant/bar because I couldn’t resist the smell that came out of the kitchen. Music was playing, and as usual, I was the only woman without male companionship, but after years of traveling, I had learned to walk in like I had the right to do so -which is a privilege not every country willingly gives females, not even today.

I showed confidence that I didn’t feel, walked through the tables, and took a seat at a place close to the window. I waved to the waiter and ordered water and a gin tonic. I asked for the menu which was given to me without hesitation.

Some of the guests, middle-aged men with dark brown faces stared at me the same way people look at a monkey in a zoo, but as always they lost interest when I smiled, nodded a HELLO, and started to read my menu. I was dressed appropriately, didn’t offend or attract anybody, minded my own business and soon I was no longer the center of attention.

Some might think I am a feminist by heart, a rebel, a fighter for women’s rights and perhaps now I am, but back then I wasn’t. I simply wanted to be independent and when I went out all by myself I felt safe. I never went out unattended when I wasn’t comfortable, and always obeyed the rules and laws of the country I visited.

I was enjoying my meal when voices got loud at a table close by. I minded my own business – that much I had learned, never get involved if you don’t have to – until you want to. The argument got louder and seemed more heated. Other men got involved and now half of the restaurant seemed to be interested and people were shouting at each other. A red flag for any foreigner!

I wanted to get out but didn’t want to get noticed either. I debated in my head. Should I wave for the waiter and pay? I felt nervous and helpless. Then I felt a hand around my upper arm, and heard a voice behind me in English say, “Get up slowly,” and somehow the way he held me, the way he talked to me, convinced me that I could trust that voice.

I got up quietly, and at that very moment, a young man close by drew a pistol and pointed it at the table where the fighting had started. Now I was in panic mode, I wanted to run as fast I could, but the hand around my arm kept me in place. Then with one quick step, the man switched places with me. He no longer held me, but now shielded me. A second man I hadn’t noticed before stood all of a sudden beside me, he too spoke English. “Let’s get out before it escalates and if I tell you to go down, you go down and crawl under a bench.”

I didn’t nod or talk, I was paralyzed with fear and felt very vulnerable. What if...

My confidence shattered, I felt that my well-being and perhaps my life were in the hands of these two English-speaking strangers. The situation heated up more and more, the voices were shouting back and forth and then we stood outside. To this day I am not sure if they carried me, or if I really used my own two feet.

We walked away from the place, as quickly as we could. One of the guys now held my arm again, the other seemed to walk more backward than forward. Half an hour later we sat down at a coffee shop, they ordered me Slivovitz, a Yugoslavian Schnaps which I poured down like a cowboy in a Western movie.

They were soldiers, stationed in Yugoslavia to be there when the crisis would get out of control. Their mission was to get people like me out, in case it would become too dangerous to stay. “Can you defend yourself,” they asked me and I looked at them in disbelief.

“How many people were in the restaurant?” “Where was the exit?” “How many waiters?” “How many were in the kitchen?” I found all the questions very offensive. “Why do I need to know? And yes I can defend myself.”

“So you can punch a person if necessary? You can free yourself if one holds you against your will?”

Right then and there it hit me, I cannot defend myself other than talk or run and hope for the best.

That I couldn’t answer any of the questions they asked bothered me. I had considered myself to be observant, yet it seemed I was the opposite. Sidetracked by smells and atmosphere, I hadn’t noticed any of the obvious.

I stayed in Split for two more months and Matthew, the young man who had grabbed my arm and I became acquainted. He told me about his girlfriend back home, and I talked about my husband. We stayed in contact for many years.

I knew he was a soldier. To this day I believe he was working for a special force or task. Which he never denied or agreed with.

Three weeks later I traveled to Zagreb, and from there I went to Belgrade where I was supposed to stay for a couple of weeks before I flew back home. “If I call you and tell you to get out, you do that!” It wasn’t a question, but a demand. A couple of weeks later the hotel phone on my nightstand rang. “Pack up and get out,” he said and he told me where to go. A few hours later I was on a plane back home.

The civil war in Yugoslavia had started. Years later the country was split into different countries.

From Matthew, I learned to walk tall and to look strangers in the eye when I smell fear. “Don’t look down! don’t look away! Don’t be an easy victim!”

I don’t have a black belt, nor have I taken self-defense classes, but he showed me a few things. I can get out of a HOLD, I know how to use a key as a weapon. I know where to hit when I have to. I don’t believe in violence, but strongly believe in self-defense.

Wherever I go now, I know where the exits are, and how many people are at a restaurant or store. I always look for the bathrooms, and the fire extinguisher signs, and I choose a table so that nobody can sit behind me -or one where I can overlook everything.

I learned to trust my instincts. I learned to read a room, not just by voices and words – that’s what you do as an interpreter- but by tension. Matthew made me believe in myself and he taught me to trust myself and my judgement.

If I could change one law?

Then I would make self-defense classes/martial arts mandatory in all schools, perhaps even in Kindergarten.

Domestic violence – Child abductions – Sexual abuse – Sexual assault – Women and men being held against their will
So many situations can leave us feeling vulnerable and helpless. 

I always regret that I never found the time to take classes because I know it is comforting to know that you can defend yourself from an attacker and protect your children and family when needed. The little I learned helped me throughout my life – it still does.

Self-defense is an exercise of the mind and body. Nothing wrong with that. Perhaps we would have even fewer guns here in America.

54 thoughts on “And Then It Hit Me…

  1. Wow, what a wild experience! It’s amazing how life can throw us into unexpected situations, isn’t it? I’m so glad those two strangers were there to look out for you. It just shows that kindness and bravery can come from the most unexpected places. Take care out there, and thanks for sharing your story! 🤗

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your story about Yugoslavia was intense! It really shows how life can throw unexpected curveballs and the importance of being ready for anything, especially when you’re in new places.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Absolutely, life’s unpredictability can be both exhilarating and daunting. While we can’t control every twist and turn, it’s crucial not to let fear dictate our lives. Instead, maintaining a healthy awareness of our surroundings helps us navigate the uncertainties with resilience and adaptability. Here’s to embracing life’s adventures while staying grounded in the present moment.

        Like

  3. Your posts are inspiring. Always fascinating.
    My best buddy from since my early 20s was from Yugoslavia: Belgrade—(“was” only because as you point out Yugoslavia is no more) Vesela came to visit me once in Japan in one of her business trips. She’s a museum curator in NY.
    Your story is amazing. You made me really consider noticing those details from now on. And I will. Thanks Bridget. Xoxo

    Liked by 2 people

    • I like that. It’s the little things that keep us safe. Like checking out the backseat before you sit down on your driver seat in your car. Or like Nancy suggested, locking the bedroom door. Knowing where to turn to in an emergency and of course knowing where the emergency exists are. It’s a good brain game.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. So glad those men were looking out for you… it could have just as easily be the opposite. What a difficult situation. Even within my own town I try to always be aware of my surroundings, but maybe that comes from being a cop’s daughter and having a paranoid mother. Self defense, even in the simplest form would be a GREAT idea for school kids for many reasons. But you are right, it likely wont happen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was very lucky. I am still fearless but very much aware of my surroundings. We live in Ohio. I will never forget the day when they found the three girls in Cleveland, only three hours away. Held captive by a monster for a decade. Imagine they all would have been able to defend themselves. I understood why we don’t follow Asia and teach martial arts in schools, or have Thai Chi in parks and offices? Why not? It’s better than having too many guns.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. That’s a pretty scary situation especially when you’re in a different country and don’t know anyone there. But so glad he got you out of there and turned out to be a good person. Even if you can defend yourself, it can be pretty dangerous when you’re on your own.

    Like

  6. It’s a dilemma when in such a situation. It is bad to appear as weak and vulnerable but it can also be dangerous to appear as an overly strong and capable person. You were lucky in this case to have someone close by who knew how to react and get you, and them, out of the dangerous situation. It often pays to be as insignificant and unthreatening as you possibly can be. An interesting, although scary, episode in your life. I’m so glad that you came out of it well Bridget!

    Like

    • What happened to my reply to you? Did Word Press not like it? I was very lucky more than once. I have very good instinct when it comes to trusting, or a guardian angel who worked overtime for quite some time. 🙂

      You are right, coming across as insignificant and harmless can be as important. I guess it depend on the situation.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. A great post, Bridget! I was in Dubrovnik as a tourist a couple of years before that, and I watched, almost in disbelief, the shells exploding on those beautiful walls on the news. Eastern Europe has been torn apart many times and, as the world stands now, it’s not easy to feel secure in any place. As you know, I’ve found myself a bolt hole, but I don’t kid myself that this is forever. I simply enjoy the day. I practise t’ai chi and am aware of the defence aspect, but whether I would be effective in a real life situation? Let’s hope it’s never put to the test. Thank you for your wise words.

    Liked by 3 people

  8. Sometimes, our naivety gets us into trouble. Often, we never know how close we came to danger or what might have happened, if things had escalated. You definitely had guardian angels that day. You are right, we all need to act like we belong and be able to have the confidence to handle or deescalate things. The world is a crazy place right now and situations can happen in a flash. Thanks for the tale. Allan

    Liked by 3 people

  9. I too used to travel with work in Europe. And actually took self defense classes which actually helped me so much.. not to actually defend myself as the need never arose, but as your friend indicated, to not look like a victim. Also what to look out for – so as not to find myself in dangerous situations. Thank you for this interesting post. Totally agree that classes should be taught in schools. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment