RIP Sinead O’Connor

Just three months ago I watched a documentary about Sinead O’Connor and ever since, my admiration for this strong woman had gone of the chart. Hearing about her passing made me very sad today.

Such a strong woman.

Am I the only one who applauded her when she ripped up the picture of the Pope. I was shocked by the shock so many felt about it. Did they not understand why she did it? Did they even bother to ask the right questions?

She had a moral compass and principles and she stood up for what is right even if it harmed her and caused her pain.

It began on October 3, 1992, when O’Connor tore up a picture of Pope John Paul II on Saturday Night Live, in a very public denunciation of pedophilia in the Catholic Church. Two weeks later she was booed by the crowd at the Bob Dylan 30th anniversary concert. She stood on stage and took it.

Did people even care why she did it because I am sure if they would have bothered to learn about her past, they would have understood, perhaps even applauded.

As she stood there I felt sorry for her, but I also felt pride. Such a small person with so much strength inside of her.

Sinead had the courage to speak her mind in action and words, even when she knew it would be unpopular. She endured years of scrutiny and criticism for her refusal to be anything but herself.

I admire that in any person.

She was ahead of her time. With her elfin features and skinhead look she was one of pop music’s most recognizable figures and what a voice. The music video “Nothing Compares 2 U” is captivating. The arrangement in its simplicity is brilliant.

Sinead O’Connor used her music to deal with the demons inside her and there were many.

She is the feminist icon of the 90s and I am proud to call myself her fan.

May she rest in peace!

May we never forget her!

Indeed, nothing compared to you, Shuhada’ Sadaqat.

17 thoughts on “RIP Sinead O’Connor

  1. Thanks to the abuse at the hands of the Catholic Church and others, Sinéad seldom had any peace in her life. I hope she has peace now. As ones related to a victim of the Irish “orphan system” we fully understand how this abuse and torment transcends through successive generations. Also a fan of Sinéad. Allan

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Can I ask what the documentary was called and where I can watch it? She had such a beautiful and powerful voice. I didn’t know a lot of her music but loved to hear her sing. She was a one of a kind!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment