Victory- Friday Fictioneers

Friday Fictioneers

Photo prompt – Copyright Vijayay Sundaram

The whole city seems to be on its feet; they are celebrating their victory. People are dancing in the street, I can hear music and laughter. The party will continue until early in the morning. I know, I have witnessed it before.

And here I am, sitting in the dark, as I watch the firework from my room. I don’t feel like celebrating, my heart is heavy. I am not from here; I am not one of them.

They won the title, my team lost. I shut the door, close the curtains and suffer in silence.

“Stupid sport,” I mumble.

(Word count: 100)


This is my entry to this week’s Friday Fictioneers 100-word challenge. I couldn’t help it; Football season will start this weekend and for the next months I will watch my husband suffer with his team every Sunday. The whole concept is lost on me, but it doesn’t look appealing (at all).

Today I borrowed Rochelle’s welcome picture, because she explains the challenge so much better than I ever could. (I hope using the picture was alright.)

Click >>>here<<< and check out the other entries and Rochelle’s blog. It is so much fun.

MAKE . EVERY . WORD . COUNT .

friday-fictioneers-farm-path

26 thoughts on “Victory- Friday Fictioneers

  1. Greetings!
    LOL, I love the twist at the end! It’s SO true of die hard sports fans, too. (I should know, we’re a pretty hard-core Red Sox household.) You have some great, tight phrasing that keeps a nice pace for reading and some other, longer sentences that might be snappier if you spliced a few others. That being said, you capture the emotion of a deeply-invested fan of the losing team brilliantly!
    Happy trails! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment