Be careful what you wish for!

Image result for wish granted gif

Just a couple of weeks ago I felt overwhelmed by work and life in general. I wished for a few days off, dreamed of doing absolutely nothing.

As a small business owner I had my share of ups and downs, but never thought I would find myself in a situation where I would be forced to close or postpone all my classes, yet I did.

I wrote to all my students, informed them there wouldn’t be any upholstery classes or sewing classes for the rest of March. My wildest guess is this will continue in April, perhaps even in May. To my surprise they understood. They texted, called and sent emails. They all agreed -all but one.

Hi Bridget,

I just saw your call.  Thank you for emailing.  Last night we discussed class next weekend.  We would recommend cancelling.  Once testing becomes more available we anticipate to see the counts quickly increase.  While we are not at high risk we do realize we could transmit the virus to individuals who are at risk.  We’re planning to stay at home as much as possible over the next several weeks to limit our exposure. After the virus runs its course, and hopefully the measures local and federal government are taking to dampen the rate of infection, we can discuss a future date to complete the class.
.

It’s fine with me. We will wait until this all clears up. I just texted you. I agree with your decision. Chat with you at the end of March. Stay well.

.

Hi Bridget-
I could not be mad, and could not agree more that we all need to be safe and smart. 
Totally get it. 
I miss seeing you, and our crafty time together, but know that we will get together when the time is right. 
Please take care,

.
I have taken on too much work. I have a workroom full of furniture and projects lined up for at least three months. Between taking care of my husband after his surgeries, I was juggling work and classes, dropped a few balls now and then -drove myself nuts worrying.

I wished for a break. I joked that I would once again appreciate a loan from my imaginary time-bank.

Now, just a couple of weeks later, all classes are postponed! It seems like my loan got approved. 20 hrs of extra availability have just been added to my weekly work schedule. By Easter I will be out of the red, will be caught up with all my projects. My customers will be happy, and I will be smiling calmly.

I try not to look further into the future than two months right now. I don’t want to know what the future holds. I don’t want to start worrying about things I cannot change. There will be enough time to start panicking by the end of April. Life as we know it has come to an abrupt halt. We will adjust, we will prevail. The coronavirus will not break us.

While everybody around me is complaining about the self-quarantine and the house arrest all responsible adults have decided to follow, I am whispering ‘Thank you.’

THANK YOU universe for the extra time.

Uncertain times ask for an attitude adjustment. I decided to make the best out of everything this virus will trow at me/us. I will use this time of isolation carefully and will make the best out of it.

I will travel back in time, revisit places I have seen. I will dream of becoming an artist or a poet, will write poems and stories in my mind -and who knows, perhaps some of them will find its way into the virtual world on my block.

I will use my time wisely! I promise!

Image result for positive attitude gif

13 thoughts on “Be careful what you wish for!

  1. {whispering} I feel the same, Bridget. In so many ways, this ‘pause’ in the world is giving me a gift of time, and I’m using it so differently. I quietly whisper ‘thank you’ too.

    I do worry for how long this will last though … so many people hurting.

    Like

  2. Considering how many of your major problems and concerns healthwise and finance wise esp re your husband have been resolved recently, I’d say you’re lucky, deservedly so, that this thing hit when it did. So, try to relax and enjoy as best you can until the world returns to some semblance of normal. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Me and Mick are lucky in that we are fully retired, and we don’t have to worry about the financial impact of all this, but many will. Restaurants are having to close at what should be the start of season for them. Some of them can provide a takeaway service and those we will support as best we can. I can still get out into the country for a walk with minimal social contact and I may well need that. I worry for our son, who cannot work from home, but may well be suspended from his work in auditory aids because of the client base. I know he’d very much welcome the respite, and it would help with childcare if and when the schools close in the UK. Oh dear, Bridget! I struggle to find a silver lining for this one, but I’m very glad that you have found a little breathing space. 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. There is such benefit in slowing down – I know this but seldom practice it. Silver linings. Not for everyone, by any means but I count myself fortunate to be one of them. 💫

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have plenty of time at home which I sometimes use wisely and sometimes just loaf around in. Have fun, get your work done, and enjoy–and I secretly think that everyone in the world has been feeling so pressured that we all wanted a little break, and got it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you for this. I’ve been feeling slightly guilty because I’m enjoying the forced isolation. Oh there’s still my husband, but not having to go do things I had committed to has been freeing. I’m not being particularly productive…but I’m feeling relaxed. As long as I don’t turn on the news anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I felt guilty when I found myself enjoying my “house arrest” at first. How could I possibly feel that way?

      All commitments have been taken from me and I can breath freely now. Time to regroup, rethink and adjust my priorities.

      There is always a silver lining, perhaps this time of self-isolation is mine.

      Like

Leave a comment