“Land” in sight!

“Why did you help me?”

Because you were in my path.”

Land, a beautiful, quiet movie. The director’s debut of Robin Wright, who also plays the main character Edee, a woman who decided to live alone in the wilderness, far away from civilization. Almost suicidal and unprepared, she quickly is brought to her knees. A stranger, Miguel, teaches her all she needs to know, and brings her gently back to life -in more than one way.

A must-see for everybody who doesn’t mind being drawn into silence for a while. The beauty of nature, the richness of quietness. The dialogs seem to be almost a disturbance at times.

Because you were in my path.

As so often, a sentence or a quote stayed with me throughout the night and the next day, which happens to be today, I find myself wondering how many people were in my path but have been overlooked by me -intentionally or accidentally.

The few times I did help I often made a big deal out of it because helping selflessly is just not interesting enough. We live at a time where we all have the need to brag. Shining light only on our good site seems to be the motto we live by.

I long for the pat on my shoulder and the Goldstar on my forehead -even if it’s my own hand and my own voice praising me for doing the right thing. Better an invisible Goldstar as none.

How pitiful I can be and how much I don’t care.

I can be so good and I can be so superficial. I have it all in me and the choice I make is not always a smart one.

How many homeless have been in my path but were ignored?
How many tears have been cried in my path but were not dried?
How much injustice was in my path and I did nothing?
How often could I have changed a life but I didn’t?
How often did I turn my back on someone fully aware of what I was doing?

The next one will take care of it.

Someone else will help! Why me?

All the excuses I have made in my lifetime fully knowingly I was just looking for an easy way out.

Hopefully, there was a next person.

I try not to be superficial and self-absorbed but it’s hard. I want to be the best version of me, but still fail so often.

Will all the failures, in the end, bring me a step closer to become who I want to be?

Because you were in my path!

Now if I just have to start paying more attention to whatever might be in my path.

If you haven’t watched the movie. Watch it!

9 thoughts on ““Land” in sight!

  1. I wasn’t familiar with this film, and it appeals to me a great deal. I enjoy a thoughtful movie with spare dialogue. Thank you for sharing your response to “Because you were in my path!” Your observations and the questions that came to your mind are deep and insightful. I’ll be thinking of that phrase now, as well, and likely asking my own questions that relate.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment