I wish Simple would be Simpler

Have you ever wished the fantastic world of Narnia stretched out behind the door of your wardrobe, or if you don’t have a wardrobe, that a magical door would appear in your closet, or that you just need to run fast enough towards a wall on the platform to immerse yourself in another, magical land?

The world is somehow getting too cramped here right now. Too monotonous, too serious, too hateful, and it seems to take the air out of the little bubble I chose to live in. There simply has to be more than what’s here right now, at least that’s what I have been hoping for.

However, I quickly realized that behind the door of the wardrobe, there was only a huge chaos of unfolded clothes waiting, and the wall of the platform was covered by a group of 17-year-old hipsters who were playing the latest hit of a band I never heard of.

Another solution has to be found in order to discover a world, or at least another side of this world, the answer to all our fears and dreams. Travel!

I did and I became me.

I have been so fortunate in my life. In my career, working as a translator and interpreter, I saw the world and got paid to do so. Traveling to foreign countries, and unfamiliar cultures. Setting out to meet strangers and listen to their stories, tales that are so different from our own and yet so often they feel familiar. As if we would all be the same, even if we seem so different at first glance.

When traveling, we meet people who have no idea about our lives, and quite often they probably yearn for it because they don’t know how cramped everything in our lives is.

Traveling changed my outlook and it changed me as a person. Who I was meant to be I found out in countries far from where I was born.

I looked at so many people, stared at the faces in silent, unobserved moments, and wondered what these eyes had already seen. Did these people know how much I envy them? Because they looked so satisfied. They were so happy with what they had, so content with their lives -even if it was just ridiculously little (in my eyes.)

It’s all so simple. So simple. And yet it works. The small hut from which only water, beer, and coconuts are sold. The shop whose opening hours depend on how much the saleswoman is in the mood at the moment. The unregulated traffic, without helmets and without shoes, in which nothing happens. Confidence is based on the elements of nature and is therefore so much more natural than the bureaucratic construct of the religious communities based on where I come from. The small temple made of dark stones in the front yard that gives hope. So much nicer than the “No Trespassing” sign on the meticulously mowed lawn in front of the houses in our world. So much more sense. So simple!

Happiness needs so little and dissatisfaction so much. There is so much in our world. People have so much, so many things, so many rules, so many obligations, so many plans and so little time.

So little time for the things that really matter. To talk to each other -to think. To cultivate your own little garden in your heart. To let yourself drift.

To live experiences that you can’t read about in books and no influencer on Youtube screams in our faces at half past seven in the morning at breakfast. Adventures, so simple, that no one can tell us about them, only we can experience them ourselves.

Moments when time stands still and belongs only to us. Moments so beautiful that they overwhelm us. Let the tears come. Although nothing is actually happening right now. Finally, nothing happened.

And everywhere we go, and then leave at some point, we leave a piece of ourselves behind. A piece of us stays in this place forever. It is preserved at the moment. We have to leave it there, as a pledge, as a promise that one day we will come back. And, when we come back, we may be horrified to discover how strange this piece is to us all of a sudden because we haven’t been the same for a long time. At the same time, we will be amazed at how much new we bring with us and how much old is no longer there because we left it somewhere else. Somewhere where we might not even find it anymore but that would be perfectly okay.

And, if you have found the place where your heart does not beat wildly, but vibrates calmly and gently, then this may be the place for you. Maybe this is the place that’s right for you. We all have the privilege of spending the limited time we have on this earth where it feels right. Our roots, which bind us so tightly to our neatly paved road, exist only in our heads -but our heart has wings and they can carry us to where we want to be. These are our drive that helps us live our lives in a way that is right for us.

It’s madness to have an entire planet on your doorstep and only move within a radius of 100 kilometers. We so often long for another world, but we don’t even know the same world. We only know our own, ridiculously small biotope of life and think that everything is here. There is almost nothing here. We only occupy such a small, microscopic part of this earth and think that this is the world. We become a lot more humble when we realize what minimal part of the world we call our lives.

But there’s so much more out there. So much more in less. A less, which is actually everything. It just takes a little courage and a little heart. Then the roots can be separated with a small movement. If the heart then finds a place where it wants to stay for a while, then it can simply replant the roots. And release them again as soon as it’s time to move on.

That’s why I am an Austrian-American, that’s why I always be simple. Simple works better for me.

I just wish simple would be simpler at times.

29 thoughts on “I wish Simple would be Simpler

  1. I was nodding my head the entire time I was reading this. Yes. Travel opens our eyes in ways nothing else can. We learn that really, all humans want the same things. We all struggle. But we Americans (especially) make it all so confusing and complicated. I’ve been called naive and simple for the way I live and I consider that a compliment.

    Like

    • I started the series “Losing it All” here on my blog and wrote about a time in our life when we lost almost everything we had. It was meant to be just a few chapters but somehow I wrote over 30 installments and right now, I am working on the ending, perhaps another 20 or 30 installments (chapters).
      The plan is to find a few beta readers to get honest opinions if I should finish it and then, of course it will be one of the many e-books. But perhaps it will reach just one person in a similar situation and it will give them hope. Then it would be all worth the time.
      So to answer your question. “Yes, working on it.
      On my blog there is a category “Losing it all” or perhaps I bet you to be one of my beta reader? 🙂 (I wouldn’t dare)

      Liked by 4 people

  2. Dear LadyBug,

    Your recent post resonated deeply with me, especially the parts about longing for the magical worlds of Narnia and platform walls that lead to enchantment. It’s true, the world can feel too cramped and monotonous at times. Your journey as a translator and interpreter, embracing the beauty in simplicity and different cultures, is truly inspiring. Your realization that happiness requires so little, and the idea that our hearts have wings to take us where we’re meant to be, struck a chord with me. Thank you for sharing your adventures and insights, reminding us that the world is vast and our experiences in it, profoundly enriching. Mike

    Liked by 3 people

    • I appreciate your comment very much. It takes a lifetime to understand life, so it seems.
      I remember the first time I arrived in Africa. When I saw them dancing in the streets, with so much joy and so much happiness, when people who had not much invited me to their homes, sometimes huts, and they shared the little they had to, with me. It struck more than one core.
      How could they be so happy, when I, who had so much was still chasing happiness?
      I was happy in my marriage and I loved my job, but the overall, deep feeling of gratitude for the little things, that I had to learn.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree that simple is best. Retirement gives me an opportunity to enjoy simple pleasures such as drinking tea in my garden mid-morning, watching birds, or swimming early in the morning. I shy away from the glitzy aspect of celebrations such as Christmas – would rather bake and plan a simple delicious meal that we can enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Drinking tea is a not a simple pleasure, it’s a ceremony 🙂 or so they told me in the UK, when I visited. I drink tea as well, and I enjoy it as much as I enjoyed a good glass of wine years ago.
      We have a simpler Christmas this year.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Oh…this: “Happiness needs so little and dissatisfaction so much.” What a beautiful and true statement. I see dissatisfaction as a greedy gremlin, always looking for more – examples and instances of pain and suffering to add to a long list of laments. Happiness, though? It can come in the smallest – and just as you said – simplest forms. Thank you. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I found this post very relatable as I’ve found myself contemplating and wishing life would be simpler and that this world isn’t filled with so much uncertainties and wars and hatred.
    I agree, we do leave a piece of ourselves behind when we travel but then we also return from a trip with lots of memories.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Very profound observations. We have told our kids and siblings that we do not want stuff at Christmas or for birthdays. We want shared experiences and time together. Things get a lot simpler and happier when you concentrate on those who are important in your life. At the same time, those less fortunate can not be ignored, Donations of money, time and stuff make their world brighter. Just being seen makes their world feel like paradise. Happy Sunday. Allan

    Liked by 2 people

    • Most of us don’t need anything, but I love to give something. That’s what is all about, the giving part. It’s never much, but a book found at an garage sale taught me years ago to make the right presents -at the right time. So did a rooster. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Beautiful perception. So many people try to transform their “perfect” to be more perfect by adding stuff. “This place is perfect…but I want a pool that I can sit next to and do my puzzles on my phone.” They don’t actually want to swim in the pool, just have it. They want to have a library full of books they’ll never read. They will fly over the boring parts of the world to go to places that give them everything they want and not experience the hike to the little-known treasure in their backyard. Simple is better.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment