Is there anything in a human life that is not a risk?

How big do the consequences have to be to speak of risk? Is it a matter of life and death or just my material security? Is it about the possibility of landing on my behind? Is something risky if it’s just stupid?

Aren’t we taking a risk with the idea of giving the good a chance, winning, and getting more out of life? Every day we or our loved ones could be run over. We could get sick or lose our jobs. We could be abandoned be left alone, or simply lose everything we hold dear.

I know, because it happened to us. We lost everything and then? Then you take a risk to move forward.

“How big do the consequences have to be
for people to talk about risk?”
Noah Werder

Shaking your head, you might think that I’m exaggerating. Of course, all this is unlikely and we are usually not aware of it – and that’s a good thing. But that doesn’t make the risk go away.

Risks in everyday life

When was the last time I consciously took a risk? For example, when I stormed out of the house without a rain jacket, even though I had looked at the unclear weather forecast? When I crossed the intersection at a very dark yellow light? Anything could have happened. The risks seemed insignificant, but maybe only because I wasn’t aware of it in those moments.

But there are other risks that I take every day, quite consciously. By loving someone, for example. Loving means always living with the risk of getting hurt because no matter how long you are together, there will be an end.

What risk was worth it? Unnecessary and necessary risks, where is the limit? Do they even exist? Was it necessary to drive through the intersection at a dark yellow light? Leave my rain jacket at home? To love someone? Why don’t I just avoid all risks? Because it extinguishes any chance of something good, something significant.

Finding the happy medium

So why don’t I take all the risks? Because I’m afraid of losing something? Why not just walk along the main road without looking? Why not try all the drugs? Why not study which arouses joy and curiosity? Why not change jobs if you’re dissatisfied? Why not love someone? Put all your eggs in one basket?

“Unnecessary and necessary risks – what’s the limit?”
Noah Werder

Obviously, it’s not good to always risk everything. You have to think about what risks are worth taking. What do you risk and at what cost? What do you not dare to do and at what price? I don’t know where the happy compromise is. Maybe there is no middle ground at all. Maybe we should all risk a little more. We should risk opening up, dreaming, and living, even if it means landing on our faces.

Maybe that’s what being alive means, taking a conscious risk.

Do I take a risk when I meet with a customer I have never met before? When I smile at the old man in the park, not knowing if he is a nice guy or a serial killer.

When I walk the dogs and let them mingle with other dogs and kids. Don’t I risk that one of them might bite? (The dogs, not the kids).

When I still use the salad dressing, even though it expired a few months ago. Do I risk my health? Or perhaps I am just smart and use common sense?

When I make new friends and get to know them. When I speak up and share my opinion. Both can be risky at times.

The risk of taking a daily shower. Whoo whoo! In my age – any age – you can slip and then? Perhaps I should skip the shower and risk to smell bad?

The biggest risk?

Going asleep every night, trusting we will wake up again.

Daily writing prompt
When is the last time you took a risk? How did it work out?

13 thoughts on “Is there anything in a human life that is not a risk?

    • It’s so true. Taking some risks is fun and it help kids to find their own boundaries and limitation. I remember a girl telling me that it’s easy to jump in the blow up canoe. Guess who didn’t make the canoe and walked home soaking wet? 🙂 I can still hear the other kid laughing.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great post and thoughts! We all take a risk just getting out of bed each day, we could be in a bad auto accident or a number of other things that could occur. I thank God each morning that I rise. Love? No. After three divorces I say no to marriage and relationships. Life is too short to live like that…

    Liked by 2 people

    • No risk, no fun and life can be fun. I am sorry you never found the ‘right’ relationship but never say never, because you never know. The universe (life/god) has the tendency to question some of our decision. At least that’s how it works in my life. Whenever I think I know what I want…boing…something comes along and I have to readjust me opinion, my thinking, my rules and my regulations (not that I ever stick to them in the first place.)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Life is all about risk assessment and risk avoidance. Sometimes we take a calculated risk and all works out. Sometimes we simply dart into traffic with disastrous results. If there is a high reward with the risk (gambling, base jumping, shoplifting), many are convinced that it is worth it. Others think of the possible downside (losing money, injury or death and incarceration) and opt not to take the risk. Interesting topic to be sure. Have a great evening. Allan

    Liked by 1 person

    • The risk assessment, that’s a tricky one. Many, many years ago, at the tender age of 25, after three tequila shots, I took a dare and the next morning – very hangover if I may add – I found myself in a plane with a parachute on my back. Beside me were a few other people who all looked very pale -and we had been so brave the night before. What do I remember? Just one thought and it wasn’t a brave one. I wanted to feel ground under my feet and have dry pants. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment