I Vote Because I Count(ed)

Girl in front of colored house wall with colorful balloons in front of face

I am an American by choice. I am an Austrian by birth. I have given the privilege to live -and have lived- in countries that give people (still) the right to vote and I am grateful.

We all just watched another fake election in Russia. It made me shudder, it made me sad. The Russian people are surpressed by a dictator and his military. Will they ever be free? Will their vote truly count one day?

That’s why I vote in political elections. Because I am allowed to!

But there are other reasons why voting is important:

  1. Because it’s my right and privilege!
    Through the election, we the people select our representatives. I might not like some of them, but it’s the basis of our democracy, ensuring that every person entitled to vote can actively participate in democracy.
     
  2. Because every vote counts!
    Often, an election is very close. Every single vote counts to help the party I support. My voice is important! Yours is too!
     
  3. Because others decide if I don’t vote!
    If votes are not cast, they are lost. If I don’t vote, others will decide who will represent me. I don’t like that.
     
  4. Because voting protects me from extremism!
    Those who do not vote make it easier for extremists to gain greater influence on politics. A high voter turnout can prevent a rude awakening. That’s why my voice is important.
     
  5. Because not voting in protest doesn’t work!
    Giving a party a lesson by not voting doesn’t work. My voice just goes belly up. Not voting doesn’t hurt any party. If, on the other hand, I vote, I can clearly choose one party over the other.
     
  6. Because choosing means taking responsibility!
    Politicians today decide on many of tomorrow’s issues that will affect us in the future. Non-voters refrain from taking responsibility for their future and helping to shape it.
     
  7. Because I can actively influence politics!
    With my vote, I influence politics to important questions of everyday life.
     
  8. Because even an invalid ballot count!
    If I really can’t make myself vote for any of the candidates, it is better to cast an invalid ballot than not to vote at all – because invalid votes count towards the voter turnout. Many invalid votes send a symbolic signal and shows elected officials the interest in politics is there, but from my point of view, the parties don’t represent me.
     
  9. Because voting is a civic duty!
    No one is forced to go to the polls but I have the freedom to do so – and I should use it! A democracy can only exist in the long term if citizens participate in it. In addition, the elected persons are legitimized by the fact that as many people as possible voted for them.
     
  10. Because with my election I decide who becomes a member of the parliament!
    It’s about the person who represents me and in our nation.

And last but not least, because once upon a time, when I still lived in Austria, as a very young adult, I was randomly selected to count votes. I didn’t want to do it, but it was my civic duty. I am glad I had this experience. I saw how much work it is. Back then we hand-counted the votes, double checked them, checked them again. A vote was still given by hand too, the voters checked the boxes with a pencil.

I remember how important it made me feel. I unfolded the large papers, made sure the sheet had been filled out correctly, because only then was officially in the count for the overall number of casted votes, as well as in the piles for the party and politician.

I remember how much pride we all showed in the honor we were given. Young and old, we helped counting votes until late at night.

I remember to this day how it made me feel and I understood the importance of the voting act. Sometimes that’s all that’s needed, to get involved, to see first hand how it’s done.

I have never forgotten. And even if I have to decide to cast my vote for the lesser of evil, or another old white man, I will do it because it’s a priviledge that many people in other countries wished they had.

I am a woman. Not so long ago I wasn’t allowed to vote because of my gender.

This changed in the US on August 18, 1920

This changed in Austria on November 12, 1918

Daily writing prompt
Do you vote in political elections?

17 thoughts on “I Vote Because I Count(ed)

  1. I agree with so much of what you wrote right now. If you don’t vote, you don’t get the right to complain. The problem with our system is that our votes don’t really matter, it’s up to 538 people to decide who wins, not us, the people who are affected by it all.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. A great list of reasons. By far beats the reasons others have told me they don’t vote – don’t think their vote counts, why bother they are all liars or I don’t want to be called for jury duty. My Mom always said if she didn’t vote she didn’t have the right to complain and she WANTED that right!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Wonderful reasons – carry on the good work! I really despair when people complain about their elected officials when they have not bothered to vote. I also get annoyed when people vote for a particular party every time because they have always voted that way/their fathers voted that way/their partner told them to vote that way.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I live in Ohio, a state that will vote for Trump. Most of my neighbors all vote for party, because their parents and grandparents have voted that way and also, because they are Christians and because Trump was holding a bible in his hands, they will vote for him even if he lies, cheats, or kills someone.
      Republican women will vote against their own rights. It’s puzzling and frightening.

      Liked by 3 people

  4. Good answers to the prompt, for sure. I do my best to be an informed voter, voting for the policies I wish to see, not the colour of the uniform. Not voting or a knee jerk protest vote may seem like a good idea, but seldom works in the way we think it will. I do not know how I will vote in the future federal election here. Do I vote for the pretty PM and party who are slowly (speeding up it seems) destroying our country or do I vote for the opposition leader and a party who have a great slogan, but no policy to back it up? Hmmm. I will vote, I just do not know for whom yet. Have a good evening. Allan

    Liked by 3 people

    • I follow the Canadian news and I am curious to see if Trudeau will stay PM. We here in the US wish we would have someone like him to choose from. Look at our disaster. Two old white man. One a blue collar politician who has served a lifetime in congress, who believes in democracy but is way too old, the other a Billionaire-Entertainer who doesn’t know how politics works and who would like to be king.
      It should be a no-brainer, sadly it’s not.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Sadly, our pretty boy, photo op PM has now passed his best before date and we risk falling into the hands of a #45 wannabe. I want policy substance, not tear it all down opposition. As to your situation, the independent presidential candidate is not going to make the problem any better. His candidacy could result in a disastrous return. I just want this lurid news cycle to end and I do agree that there are any number of better candidates who could be and should be running, but big bucks buys support. Fingers crossed.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment