Don’t blame the Pants my Love!

 

 

 

fat pants

My husband has gained some weight since he quit smoking. I noticed it a couple of weeks ago, and it made me smile. Life has its good moments.

He has always liked my cooking, and he loves to eat but lately everything that I serve seems to be outstanding. “This is the best chicken pot pie you have ever made,” he said just the other night and added that I should always make it like this from now on. I thought it was funny; I haven’t changed a thing.

For years my husband added hot sauce to almost every dish I made, and he drove me insane by doing so. There I was, juggling spices and herbs in the kitchen to make the perfect meal, and there he was, adding Tobasco to everything.

tabassco

His taste buds came back to life after he gave up cigarettes; now the Tobasco bottle stays on the shelf right beside my other spices. Finally, he can enjoy the dishes how they are meant to taste!

Yes, he has gained some weight, but that’s normal. I was wondering when he would notice.

I bought a new scale a few weeks back, and my husband was not a happy camper the next day. “You know,” he said, “I liked the old scale better, this one makes me weigh more.” (Really Sherlock?)

bigger pants 8

Then, our old washer finally broke, and we needed a new one. I never thought I could be that excited about a machine, but I was. The laundry came out so much cleaner; the water seemed so much hotter. I was in awe and shared my new washing experience with my better half.

“That’s why my pants are getting smaller,” he said, and I had to hold back laughter.

Talk about total denial. Of course, it couldn’t be the fact that he went for seconds and thirds every night. It couldn’t be the fact that he developed a sweet tooth?

bigger pants 5

I didn’t say a word.

He is smoke-free since 71 days, and I guess that he must have gained at least 10 pounds by now. Life can be fair.

We stopped at an ice cream store today; it’s too hot here, and we both enjoyed the cold treat.

“I think I will need to buy bigger pants,” he said, and I lost it. I couldn’t stop laughing.

bigger pants 7

The same thing happened to me when I quit smoking. I joked once and said, “I eat everything that doesn’t eat me first,” and it was true, all of a sudden everything tasted so good, and I was always hungry.

I instantly hit the breaks back then and went on a diet. I called it  MY LUXURY DIET; I invested the money I saved from smoking in my health. I bought lots of seafood, exotic fruits, and other healthy food that I usually wouldn’t eat every day. Interesting enough, it stopped the weight gain right in its tracks.

So, I guess I will put as both on a healthy diet for a few weeks. I am more than happy to help him in any way I can; I am just so glad that he quit smoking as well.

Now we truly are  “The Happy Quitters.”

bigger pants 6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Don’t blame the Pants my Love!

  1. This is one of those good news/ bad news stories, but in this case the good far outweighs the bad!!
    A very entertaining post … I love that cartoon with the birds. It cracks me up every time I see it 😀

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment