Get Up and GO ~!

I am a morning person, love life and have no problem getting up. Over the years my motivation might have changed a little bit, but why wouldn’t I want to get up? Life itself drives me and the need to pee. 🙂 

Get Up and GO

How do I know my youth has been spent:
Because my get-up-and-go, got up and went
But in spite of all that, I’m able to grin
When I think where my get-up-and-go has been

Old age is golden, I’ve heard it said,
But sometimes I wonder as I go to bed
My ears are in a drawer, my teeth in a cup,
My eyes on a table until I wake up

When I was young my slippers were red
I could kick my heels right over my head
When I grew older my slippers were blue
But I could still dance the whole night thru

Now that I am old my slippers are black
I walk to the corner and puff my way back
The reason I know my youth is spent
My get-up-and-go got up and went

I get up each morning dust off my wits
Pick up the paper and read the “orbits”
If my name is missing, I know I’m not dead
So I eat a good breakfast and go back to bed
(by Peter Seeger)

That pretty much sums it up, even though my slippers are not black (yet).

Slippers


Forward Drive

What is the one thing that drives you to wake up in the morning and do whatever it is you do? Is it writing, family, friends, or something else entirely?

6 thoughts on “Get Up and GO ~!

Leave a comment